The tale of the two old ladies, the door, and the eggs.

Greetings Everyone!

Today I feel the need to share with you one of my Diana Arco’s short tales having fun style, lol.

Oh well, Enjoy!

The Tale Of The Two Old Ladies, The Door, And The Eggs.

This is the present and I’am aware of these words of mine
Where the tale I’am about to tell you
Came out from my deepest place from all.
The land of dreams that I visit at nights
It’s also a source for inspiration for me to write
When I remember what I found out, of course,
Rich in symbology, sounds, and colors,
Just a world within another for me to explore.

So let’s start this adventure
With these following words…

Once upon a time,
In the land of my dreams,
I was in a candlelight living room
Surrounded by old paints on the walls,
And red old dust furniture…so antique,
Old fashioned the time to be,
‘Cause I was wearing blue jeans,
White tshirt, and my favorite sneakers.

I was there, alone,
Staring at the blazing logs in the fireplace,
When I heard someone calling out my name.
She was such an old lady,
Wearing a long brownish dress,
Like coming out from another time,
Victorian era?…I guess.

I knew I’ve never seen her before in my life
But in my dream she was a dear relative of mine.
She invited me to visit her neighbour,
For a small and privileged gathering,
So I agreed polite.

I opened the door and we both left the room.
I was holding a burning candle,
It was dark to my eyes,
But we managed to walk a few steps
Until we’ve reached the door.
The old lady showed me a pair of small keys.
And that took my attention…
“That lady had the door keys of her neighbour.”

But my eyes noticed a pair of bigger keys
Hanging by the door with a golden string.
I suggested the old lady to use those instead,
But she was insisting to open the door with her smaller old keys.
What a waste… the keys didn’t fit in.
“Step aside, stubborn old woman.
You’re doing it wrong.” I said in my despair.

I took the bigger keys and I opened the door,
To find myself in the same living room
Surrounded by old paints on the walls and red old dust furniture.
I asked to myself “What’s going on in here?”
But that question went away when I saw another old lady
Wearing the same brownish dress.
She was standing beside a round wooden table
Without expression in her face.

The atmosphere was ready for us,
With plates, napkins, silverware, and cups.
The coffee was smelling so good,
There were lots of cakes to choose from,
And a simple orange bowl with hard boiled eggs.
The old lady invited us to join her
Under the lights of candle burning sticks.

We took our seats,
I was between the two old ladies twins.
And we were in silence
Deciding what to eat.
Then, more comfortable… I saw them drinking coffee
With elegant manners.
I saw them eating cake,
Small bites at the time, enjoying its flavour.

And I just couldn’t help it,
My mouth was melting,
I took the orange bowl before my eyes
Without even thinking.
The eggs where the best ever
And I felt so satisfied.
The two ladies took their napkins to their lips,
Offended towards me.
“Child, what have you done?”
Both asked at the same time.

I didn’t understand their dramatic behavior
“You ate the eggs!” both of them complained.
“Of course I did, those were there on the table.”
I replied with surprise in my eyebrows and my voice.
“Those cakes and coffee were not my temptation.”
I said in my defence.
“I ate what I needed and there isn’t regret in me.”

Then there was such an uncomfortable silence…
And I understood many things.
The main one:
“I have no need to be here.”
I decided to stand up and leave.

I said “good bye, my old ladies twins”
“It was a pleasure to meet you,
But I must get going now.”
“You ate the eggs!” they yelled at me again.
“Of course, that’s why I need to go away,
There is no place for me in here anymore.”

So I kissed their foreheads,
I smiled at them,
And I walked away
Out that door,
Feeling so ready for my next adventure.
“Oh, my…I really ate those hard boiled eggs on the table!”

Sincerely,
Diana.

THE DOOR KEYS EGGS

And to close…
Here find a few quotes that I chose about my tale that you just read.

“There are as many worlds as there are kinds of days, and as an opal changes its colors and its fire to match the nature of a day, so do I.”
John Steinbeck

“I often sit and watch the leaves change colour and fall from the tree. To me, those leaves signify the constant change in our own lives and all the beautiful colours signify our own emotions. As the leaves, change and fall from the tree’s with such grace and gentleness, they’re reminding us to be gentle with ourselves as this chapter ends and the next journey begins in our lives.”
― Annalee Hopkins

“In literature and in life we ultimately pursue, not conclusions, but beginnings.”
― Sam Tanenhaus, Literature Unbound

“The ending is nearer than you think, and it is already written. All that we have left to choose is the correct moment to begin.”
― Alan Moore, V for Vendetta

“Everything that has a beginning has an ending. Make your peace with that and all will be well.”
― Jack Kornfield, Buddha’s Little Instruction Book

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Page

Leave a Reply

